10% Origination fee
Need a Funder or Vendor? START HERE

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question 10% Origination fee

Hello Everyone,

I’m new to this side of the industry. Prior I was a sales person so I didn’t see what went on behind the scene, I simply just got in files and sold what was presented to me. I recently started my own company. A deal I recently funded was a 3rd position with a lender I had never heard of before, but I see several people have mentioned working with them on DF before.

I sent them an incredible file that was doing anywhere from $500-750k per month in revenue, for a company that has over $2.5M on their 15-90 day AR

Anyways they charged me a 10% origination fee which my client was happy about, I usually charge an additional PSF but with the lender charging 10% for origination I had no room. I got them to negotiate it down to 7%.

To my knowledge this was rather high for an origination fee and I felt as if the lender was taking advantage of me and the situation since I am new.

Is it normal for lenders to charge a 10% origination fee on 3rd positions or did they take advantage of me?

LOL!

So this said lender pays you 10-15 points and you're upset because because you couldn't charge your merchant an extra fee because the lender took advantage of you?

You negotiated the fee by 3 points lower not to help the merchant, but to make 3 extra points yourself.. Sounds like you're the one that's trying to take advantage. If I were this lender I would cut you off after reading this.

Unfortunately I didn’t charge the additional 3 points, this particular client never paid more than 3% on their PSF and I found it odd the lender was asking 10% for origination and was quick to drop it down to 7%. It was sold at a 1.49 and I only made 4 points because turns out I went through another broker who said they were a direct lender and ended up being a broker. To be clear the MCA contract originally had 10% origination fee and I got them to drop it to 7%.