"Double Dipping"
Need a Funder or Vendor? START HERE

Member Reputation points: 11

"Double Dipping"

I am new to the industry working in an ISO and have found this board invaluable in the learning curve. Thank you all. I found the video in the news letter interesting. The renewal thing has had me a little concerned from the perspective of the merchant. How was this conversation taken by those at the conference? Is this an elephant in the room?

A forum user Reputation points: 2147483647 Sean Cash's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Calvin View Post
    I am new to the industry working in an ISO and have found this board invaluable in the learning curve. Thank you all. I found the video in the news letter interesting. The renewal thing has had me a little concerned from the perspective of the merchant. How was this conversation taken by those at the conference? Is this an elephant in the room?
    So most people in this industry refer to this methodology as a refi and truthfully I don't think many if anyone gives it a second thought these days. It has been a mainstream way to provide additional funds for years now. Some companies will still do an "add-on" which is additional funds without an increase in the holdback %/daily payment but it's rare.

Jim Salters at The Business Backer explained double dipping at the conference during a widely attended panel breakout session. It definitely raised eyeballs especially amongst those looking in from outside the MCA industry. For example, I think the whole reason double dipping even came up is because Bob Coleman of the Coleman Report (one of the nation's major SBA loan publishers) brought it up.

The conference was productive because you get a lot of the country's best minds in one place. For instance, nobody really suggested stacking was a regulatory issue there, yet if you come on dailyfunder there are posters who think stacking is the only weakness that the industry has.