Commission Question
Need a Funder or Vendor? START HERE

Commission Question

Hello all, I am considering a broker position at an ISO shop and, as I am new to the business, wanted to know what the veterans here believe an average commission structure looks like for typical broker?? Any help would be appreciated...

Thanks

Senior Member Reputation points: 99426

New brokers who work at an ISO shop can expect around 15-20% of the commission earned by the ISO. As you get more experience, you'll climb up the scale. If you get a salary, the commission may be lower.

Senior Member Reputation points: 3217 CO1's Avatar

I have seen them give 300 a week, plus $300 for switch of processing, 2 points on the funding, paid every 2 and half of the broker fee; which is paid every 2 weeks.

Thanks for comments, this really helps. Next question, the ISO said the commission they charge varies somewhere between 5 and 10% depending on circumstance...any thoughts on that?

Yes that is true. Sometimes the ISO has to cut commission to sell the deal. Also, different cash advance programs have different commission structures. I've made as little as 1% on a deal and as much as 15%. Hopefully the ISO will be honest about reporting what the actual commission earned was.

Understood, and thanks again for the help. I've been researching it a bit lately and it seems like there is a lot more room for this financing alternative to grow. MCNetwork, do you see a lot of new players in the industry lately? Would you say its helped in terms of lowering loan costs, or hurt your biz at all in terms of too much competition??

A forum user Reputation points: 2147483647 Sean Cash's Avatar

When I was a rep, I got no base and earned 25% of the deal's commission including the merchant account residual. The commission on a deal could be $75 or it could be $1,000. Different on every deal.